Homemade Chocolate Milk

I’m basing this recipe on one invented by Heather Elliott and posted on her blog. I’ve been buying Silk Chocolate Almond Milk lately. I was out today, and the idea of chocolate milk was all too appetizing for me to pass up. So I decided to make a vegan version of Heather’s and share it here ūüėÄ

The original recipe:

  • 3 cups of milk
  • 3 tablespoons powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons cocoa powder (or to taste. I use dark cocoa, so if you are using regular, you might want a little more)

I had an Unsweetened Almond and Coconut milk blend on hand, so that’s what I used today. If you are using a soy/almond/coconut/hemp/cashew/etc. milk¬†that is sweetened or has vanilla, be sure to modify the amount of sugar you add!

IMG_8729

Homemade Vegan Chocolate Milk

  • 3 cups plain & unsweetened vegan milk
  • 3 tablespoons plus a teaspoon powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • Combine¬†ingredients in blender for 10-30 seconds

Notes:

I started with the original¬†amounts of sugar and chocolate, but like Heather noted, mine wasn’t chocolatey enough since I wasn’t using dark cocoa powder. I added 1/2 a tablespoon more and found the result a bit bitter, so I added 1-2 teaspoons of sugar.

If the milk is still too bland, feel free to¬†incrementally add sugar and cocoa powder. As long as you add less than 4.25 teaspoons of sugar per cup of milk (12.75 tsp or 4.25 Tbsp for 3 cups), your recipe will have less sugar than Silk’s Dark Chocolate Almond Milk.

Parent Note/Tip:

You are responsible for establishing your child’s sugar norm. If children regularly eat candy and consume other things high in sugar, their taste buds will acclimate to that, just like yours would. Even if you find this recipe bland or unsweet, try it on the kids. My 3.5 year old LOVED it today.

IMG_8730

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

