Vegan Caramel Sauce

Today I made caramel sauce for my homemade popcorn. I searched the internet for recipes and found two I liked. Most of the recipes I found include almond butter as an ingredient. I get it: healthy is nice. But when I want caramel sauce I want caramel sauce gosh darn it, not some weird substitution (I’m actually really excited about trying the almond butter recipes, but you know what I mean. All these unusual-ingredient-recipes-for-something-that-is-really-just-liquid-sugar make us vegans look like hippy weirdos, and we don’t want the world knowing the truth about us just yet 😜).

Caramel Sauce #1

This is the one I made today. Original recipe can be found here.

  • 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)
  1. Combine ingredients.
  2. Cook over medium heat until sugars dissolve, then increase the heat to medium-high and boil.
  3. Stir often until it reaches desired consistency.
IMG_5389
Ingredients in the pan before heating

Caramel Sauce #2

I haven’t made this one yet, but look forward to comparing it to the first in flavor, color, and consistency. Original recipe can be found here.

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 4 tablespoons vegan milk
  • 8 tablespoons vegan butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • (optional) 1 pinch of salt
  1. Combine all ingredients except for vanilla.
  2. Boil for approximately 5 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and add vanilla.
  4. Apparently this sauce with ‘set’ and need reheating for it to be pourable after it cools.

IMG_5390

This weekend I plan to make brownies and more caramel sauce to drizzle on top. I’ll probably make popcorn again too, so that the rest of the family can try caramel popcorn. I was a total hog with it today. Yum!

If you want a recipe for a healthier snack, try my kale chip recipe. If you’re all about the junk food, check out my recipe for grilled cheese sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

